What An Embarrassing Performance…

By the fans.

I was at Shea for today’s 5-3 loss to the Brew Crew and I cannot believe that a fair number of people actually booed Johan Santana, He wasn’t great today, but not horrible…and certainly not boo worthy.

I am getting fed up with my fellow (so called) Mets fans. Schoe & Heilman can’t come in from the bullpen without being booed.

Yes, the collapse of 2007 sucked. Yes, I too think someone should have been held responsible for that mess.

But Johan was not involved in that and more importantly, HE KEPT THE METS IN THE GAME DESPITE NOT HAVING HIS BEST STUFF.

Johan was not amused by this. Here is Johan’s post game press conference reaction:

“If they boo, that’s fine. That’s the history they have from not being so good, I guess,”

“I’ve seen it before, it’s not the first time I’ve seen that happen to a home player,”

“We’re not perfect. We can’t do everything the way everybody wants, but we are human beings. We make mistakes sometimes.”

“It’s just how you react to it and how you bounce back and do your job.”

He gives up a few HRs, deal with it people.

Or just go back to rooting for the Yankees. I’ve seen much, much worse than today in 30 seasons of following this team.

Keep acting this way and no one will want to play for the Mets. Idiots.

Speaking of the Yankees, I really don’t understand why Yankee fans feel the need to wear head-to-toe Yankee apparel to a game where their team is not playing. Worse yet, three teenage douche bags, all wearing Yankee crap (including JERSEYS WITH NAMES ON THE BACK) of course, in my section today felt the need to stand and cheer for every Milwaukee run today. I wish I wasn’t 20 years their senior, otherwise I would have given them the attention they craved.

On the bright side, Carlos Delgado is starting to make a believer out of me. He only went 1-for-4, but his lone hit was a RBI double. He is hitting .300 almost 2 weeks into the season.

I’ll be back at Shea for tomorrows rubber game, lets hope Willie shows a little more faith in Oliver Perez than he did on Opening Day.

One Response

  1. I was disgusted by the reaction of the fans today toward Santana. No excuse. I can understand booing Schoe & Heilman to some extent. They have a lot of baggage that comes along with them and have a hard road ahead of them to turn the fans around. Santana however, has had one, ONE, bad game. Just today, and it wasn’t even that bad but it was bad by his standards. It’s not like he gave up seven runs in 1/3 of an inning on the last day of the season when they needed a win. I don’t blame him for being pissed at Mets fans. I just hope he’s not starting to regret coming here.

Leave a Reply

