Mike Piazza Retires

Mike Piazza retired from Major League Baseball today.

Adam Rubin has Piazza’s full statement at his Daily News Surfing The Mets blog, here is a portion of it:

After 19 wonderful years, I have come to the decision to officially retire from Major League Baseball. At this point in my career and after discussing my options with my wife, family and agent, I felt it is time to start a new chapter in my life. It has been an amazing journey and everything I have, I owe to God, for without His help, none of this would be possible. He blessed me with the ability to play the greatest game in the world and it has been a dream come true.

I was there at his first game as a Met at Shea against in 1998 and his last game as a Met in 2005.

I was there for the first game at Shea after the 9/11 attacks when Mike hit the game winning HR against the Braves.

I was there for Mike’s return to Shea as a Padre in 2006.

Mike was important to the Mets in so many ways…and yes Willie, I went to see him play before you were the Mets’ manager (while Yankee fans were hating you for your screw ups as their third base coach).

He may not have won a championship with the Mets, but I hope to see his #31 hanging in CitiField, along side a #17 that should have been retired ssome time ago.

Leave a Reply

